ACTEN Board of Directors' Meeting Monday, June 5, 2017

Call to Order: President Anne Schmall called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

Board Members Participating: Anne Schmall, Jeremy Cowley, Emily Murphy, DeLayne Havlovic, Siera Meyer, Carmen Warner

Board Members Absent: Stephanie Miller, Steve Woodside, Jill Hensley, Janelle Stansberry, Cathy Kloch, Melissa Hansen, Debra Ziegler, Dave Gee, Brittany McPhillips, Daniel Phillips

Ex-Officio Members Present: Rich Katt (NDE), Murleen Bellinger (ACTEN Executive Director), Kathleen Kennedy (NCE Innovation Foundation), Suzanne Neefe (FCSTN), Cindy Baum (N & R)

Ex-Officio Members Absent: Joel Miller (NAEA), Kelly Means (NSBEA), Deb Wolken (Webmaster), Ed Mills (NITEA)

Guests: Katie Graham (NDE)

Secretary's Report: The Minutes from January 13, 2017 Board of Directors' Meeting were reviewed. There were no other questions or changes to the minutes.

Siera Meyer moved to approve the minutes as presented.

Jeremy Cowley seconded. Motion Passed

Treasurer's Report: DeLayne Havlovic presented the Treasurer's Report.

The treasurer's report will be filed for Audit.

2017 ACTE Region V Conference Update: Anne Schmall presented. Sheree Moser was named the ACTE Region V Post-Secondary Teacher of the Year and Mike Roeber was inducted into the Region V Hall of Fame.

CareerTech Vision 2017: Anne Schmall presented. Jeremy Cowley and Morgan Trausch will be attending the CareerTech Vision 2017 conference as ACTEN President and President-elect. One delegate and one alternate will be chosen during the Assembly of Delegates Meeting.

National Policy Seminar 2017: DeLayne Havlovic and Cindy Baum attended the National Policy Seminar 2017. Senator Deb Fisher attended and met with ACTEN representatives. ACTEN representatives met with an aide from Senator Ben Sasse's office. ACTEN representatives also met with Congressman Jeff Fortenberry's office. DeLayne discussed the importance of continuing to contact the state representatives in regards to Career and Technical Education.

Nebraska Department of Education Update: Rich Katt presented as the NDE representative.

- Bonnie Sibert is retiring as the Business, Marketing, and Management Career Field Specialist and Sydney Kobza will be her replacement.
- Allison Kreifels is also leaving her position as Human Services and Education Career Field Specialist and Kristin Vest will be her replacement.
- The Every Student Succeeds Act is currently being worked on and is due in September.
- The NCE Stakeholders feedback reported a need for more business and industry involvement.
- ACE will take place July 24 and 25 in Lincoln and is designed to develop board members who influence Career and Technical Education.
- The Perkins Reauthorization Bill is currently in the house.
- \bullet A 15% cut to Career Technical Education was suggested by President Trump, which lowers federal allocation below the 1998 population levels. This still needs to be voted on by Congress. Nebraska's loss would be around 7.5%
- At the state level, a 15% cut is being made for Center for Student Leadership.
- Data shows that performance measures of CTE students has increased, completion of programs of study, and dropout rates are lower.

Committee Reports:

- a. Audit: The 2015-16 financial records were audited by Kris Gaebel.
- b. Budget: DeLayne Havlovic presented the budget. The proposed budget amounts have not adjusted greatly. Award amounts fluctuate from year to year, this year they are slightly higher.
- c. Bylaws: Dave Gee was not present to report. There are no current bylaw changes, but still needs to be reviewed. d. Legislation/Resolution:
- d. Membership: Anne Schmall and Murleen Bellinger presented. ACTEN is up forty members from 2015. ACTEN has gained administration, agriculture, business, trade and industry educator members. Family and Consumer Science member numbers went down. The Nebraska Association for Marketing Educators was disbanded. However, the marketing division at the national level remains the same. ACTEN will continue to include the marketing division in our association.
- e. Newsletter: Siera Meyer and Murleen Bellinger presented. Program highlights have been sent out through the ACTEN Listserv. Murleen will continue to send these out. Nominations and requests will be taken by Siera or Murleen.
- f. Nominating/Awards: ACTEN awards will be presented on Wednesday, June 7. These include; ACTEN Teacher of the Year, ACTEN Postsecondary Teacher of the Year, ACTE Teacher Educator of the Year, ACTEN Carl Perkin's Community Service Award, ACTEN Member of the Year, ACTE Region V Postsecondary Teacher of the Year and Region V Hall of Fame Inductee. Teachers who have won an ACTEN state award, but not the Region V award may reapply for the state award after three years. Murleen suggested changing the titles of the awards to fit the national and regional award names.
- g. Program of Work/Professional Development & Strategic Plan: Jeremy Cowley presented. The current work will continue.
- h. Public Relations: A CTE Month Poster Competition for Secondary and Post-Secondary was hosted in January. The winners of the CTE poster contest were from Columbus

- Lakeview. Jan Went, a business teacher, was their teacher/advisor. The ACTEN banner has been sent for approval.
- i. Nebraska Career Education Innovation Foundation of Nebraska: Kathleen Kennedy presented. New board members are being selected for each area. Executive Director, Heath Mello, will be the chair for next year. The Teach to your Power campaign will continue.

Election of Officers/Representatives for 2017-2018: Stephanie Miller will announce election results and introduce new members. Morgan Trausch has been selected as the ACTEN president elect, DeLayne Havlovic will continue to serve as treasurer, Cynthia Baum will serve for the New and Related Services committee, Daniel Phillips will be the Trade and Industry representative. The Agriculture representative will be selected on Wednesday, June 7.

Other Business:

The Committee and Strategic plan review will take place at ACE on June 24 and 25.

Murleen Bellinger and DeLayne Havlovic will look into changing the CD account to a money market account allowing the funds to raise more interest for the organization.

Siera Meyer moved to approve Kathleen Kennedy seconded. Motion Passed

Next Meeting Date: ACE Conference, July 24 and 25

Adjournment: President Anne Schmall adjourned the meeting at 6:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Emily Murphy, Secretary