ACTEN Assembly of Delegates Meeting Younes Convention Center, Kearney, Nebraska Wednesday, June 5, 2024

Call to Order: President Jean Condon called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m.

Chrisinda Ritz moved to approve changes of agenda.

Kayla Mues seconded. Motion approved.

Roll Call:

Delegates Present:

Administration	2
Agriculture	18
Business	2
Counseling and Career Development	0
Family and Consumer Sciences	7
Health Sciences Technology Education	2
Engineering and Technical Education	0
New and Related Services	0
Trade and Industrial Education	0
Postsecondary Adult and Career Education	1

Officers Present: Jean Condon, President; Rick Painter, President Elect; Jon Cerny, Past President

Officers Absent: Ronda Ras, Secretary; DeLayne Havlovic, Treasurer

ACTEN Divisional Representatives Present: Chrisinda Ritz (AGR), Justin Nollette (AGR), Miranda Bright (FAM), Michelle Paxton (FAM), Stan Haas (TRA), Adam Whitmore (TGY), Carol Erwin (PACE)

ACTEN Divisional Representatives Absent: Crystal Feik (HEA), Angie Chittick (BUS), Jennifer McConville (ADM)

Ex-Officio Members Present: Murleen Bellinger (Executive Director), Stephanie Miller (NAEA President), Miranda Bright (FCSTN President)

Ex-Officio Members Absent: Deb Wolken, Webmaster; Katie Graham, CTE Director; Sydney Kobza, Assistant CTE Director

Greetings from Carrie, Giles -- ACTE Representative to the NCE Conference

Ms. Giles thanked us for having her and encouraged us to get involved on the national level. She shared that the 2023 VISION in Phoenix had the highest attendance in a non-Vegas year. The 2024 VISION will be in San Antonio December 4-7. She also encouraged our members to check out the different Fellow Programs that are available to apply to be a Fellow. She provided dates of the upcoming conferences available to attend through ACTE.

Minutes of Last Assembly of Delegates: The minutes from the June 7, 2023 meeting were approved.

Siera Meyer moved to approve the minutes as presented. Kristin Vest seconded. Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report:

Jean Condon reminded the delegates that we are only half way through our fiscal year. The majority of our membership and income will come in after this conference.

Taylor Wilton-Cooper moved for approval. Stephanie Miller seconded. Motion passed.

Announcement of Election Results for new ACTEN Officers and Discipline Representatives:

Jon Cerny reported that 46 ACTEN members voted. The following members were nominated:

Jennifer McConville for President-elect

Seth Feeken for Secretary

Adam Whitmore – Engineering and Technology Division Representative

Alicia Beck – Health Sciences Education Division Representative

Election of Delegates for ACTE Assembly of Delegates:

Carol Erwin, Justin Nollette, Chrisinda Ritz, were nominated to serve as a delegate for the ACTE Assembly of Delegates. Carol Erwin was elected to represent ACTEN during the 2024 CareerTech VISION, Justin Nollette will be the alternate.

Career and Technical Education Update: Report as presented during the Opening General Session.

Committee Reports:

- a. Audit: The books were audited by Kris Gaebel and found to be in order.
- b. Awards/Nominations: Jon Cerny

Administrator of the Year—Jennifer McConville

Outstanding Career and Technical Teacher of the Year – Michelle Paxton

Outstanding FCS Teacher of the Year – Michelle Paxton

Outstanding Trades and Industrial Teacher of the Year – T.J. Hilsinger

Outstanding Business Teacher of the Year – Shelly Mowinkel

Carl Perkins Community Service Award – Britton Andreasen

CTE Member of the Year—Sheree Moser

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dan Stehlik

Region V Winner—Outstanding New Teacher of the Year – Sarah Hubel

c. Budget: Jean Condon

There is no change in the budget from last year. The \$12,000 from the NCEIF funds will be moved into a CD in the near future.

Jacob Goldfuss moved to approve the budget as presented. Siera Meyer seconded. Motion carried.

- d. Bylaws: Jon Cerny indicated there are no changes in the by-laws at this time.
- e. Legislation/Resolutions: Per Dr. Graham's update at the general session.

- f. *Membership*: Jean shared that there are 361 current teaching members, 375 total members including students and retired.
- g. Newsletter: Jean asked for articles or success stories to be sent to Murleen.
- h. *Program of Work/Professional Development:* Rick Painter A committee met in April to update the Strategic Plan and Program of Work. During that session, we updated our mission statement.

Michelle Paxton moved to approve the Program of Work. Kristin Vest seconded. Motion carried.

- i. Public Relations: Miranda Bright
 - The committee once again sold t-shirt apparel with a change in color and style. The store has been opened back up for orders. Miranda also created a template in Canva that members could use to personalize their information to promote CTE Month®.
- j. *Website*: Jean told delegates that Deb will continually monitor and update the website as needed. If you see anything that needs to be added or corrected, let Jean or Murleen know.
- k. Recognition of Outgoing Board Members: Jean Condon
 - Crystal Feik is leaving after completing a term as the Health Sciences Division Rep.

Chrisinda Ritz is going off the board as an Ag Division Rep.

Ronda Ras is leaving as our secretary

- Jon Cerny was thanked for his leadership. Jon will remain on the board as the Administrative Representative to the board.
- Recognition of ACTE Representative: Jean Condon
 Jean presented Carrie Giles with a certificate and box of Baker's Candies for representing
 ACTE and attending our meetings and conference.
- m. Other Business: Jean Condon
 Jean reminded the members to sell or buy raffle tickets.

New President's Message: Rick Painter

Rick thanked Jean for the amazing job she has done. He stressed that our mission on the board is to get the word out about ACTEN and the amazing work our members are doing at their schools. He asked the members to share their success stories with us so that we might share with others and showcase the great things you are doing throughout the year. He is excited for the next year and thanked them for all they do as educators.

Meeting Adjourned: Chrisinda Ritz moved to adjourn the meeting. Jon Cerny seconded. President Jean Condon adjourned the meeting at 8:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by, Murleen Bellinger, Executive Director